The Styled Ramblings of Heavy Petal's Bruce Bailey

The Magic of Moo Poo Tea

Alright. I wasn’t skeptical about Moo Poor Tea, I bought it with gusto. I have been drenching plants in it for my container business and promoting it in my lectures.

But here is a little something I did not know.

Saturday I had run to Spokane to Northland Rosarium. I am a big believer of roses on their own root and the benefits of that. Nothing like having a rose die down the ground during the winter and have it come back up as something else.

I am into antique roses, OGRs, species roses but occasionally I buy something that is not in one of those categories. I am not sold on teas. Sorry, I’m just not. I like the Kordes roses of Northern Germany. They have been breeding roses for something like 12o years.

Anyhow, I digress.

I also purchased several roses from a client. She was wanting a dark red roses and I had been searching for Lava Flow, or Lavaglut in German. Northland also had a variety called Raven. Well when I was unloading the roses 40 plus roses I purchased I accidentally broke a branch off one of the Raven roses and cut the end and put it into my drench bucket. My drench bucket filled with a fresh batch of Moo Poo Tea.

Well, I drenched the roses submerging them for the morning delivery and forgot about the roses branch when I was going to bring in to the house and enjoy. Wednesday I went to get my bucket to use the tea on some recent bare root plants I have received and there was this blooming rose in the bucket. I could not belive my eyes. Monday and Tuesday the greenhouse had to have been 120 degrees in the middle of the day? But a happy stem of roses is what greeted me at the bucket. I was amazed.

This got me thinking. What if I used Moo Poo Tea in cut flower arrangements? Should I use the tea straight or just add some to the water.

Wednesday evening I called Annie Haven to let her know what I had stumbled upon. I had read postings about Christmas trees, but heat and cut flowers are not a good mix.

Annie and I talked at length. You could hear the smile in her voice.

Annie says yes, use a couple of tea spoons of Moo Poo Tea in cut flower arrangements to make them last longer. The plants/flowers are getting nutrients and as long as you are changing the water every couple of days then you might be able to enjoy the arrangement for up to two weeks. TWO WEEKS!

So below are a couple of pictures of the rose in the bucket. I took them today (Thursday) a good five days after the rose had been cut. It has been through some high degree heat and the rosebuds are still swelling.

Please note—in the 6 o’clock position of the bucket you can see the ‘teabag’.

4 responses

  1. Hi Bruce wonderful post I love to hear growers discovery of what grows on with my Moo Poo Tea : ) Thank you Annie

    May 27, 2011 at 3:07 pm

  2. Pingback: Manure Tea Extends Life of Cut Flowers Too | Manure Tea

  3. Yep, it’s magical stuff that Moo Poo Tea!

    July 14, 2011 at 4:51 pm

  4. Bruce – My Succulents in containers are fed with Moo Poo Tea 3 or 4 times a year & love it. It’s great for houseplants too. A wonderful way to naturally boost the soil. I’ve had the great pleasure to visit Annie & “her Girls” on the ranch!

    February 6, 2012 at 11:32 am

Leave a Reply

