The Styled Ramblings of Heavy Petal's Bruce Bailey

Daffodils at Garden Home Retreat

It is spring once again and the harbingers of the season are just exposing their bright faces in Arkansas.

This spring I was fortunate enough to be invited to speak at the Arkansas Flower and Garden Show. I decided to stay an extra day to explore the beauty of the area and my host was none other than the hospitable gallant, P. Allen Smith.

Allen, as he likes to be called, picked me up at 7:30 in the morning at my hotel. He had just finished filming two segments in the studio and had a full day ahead of him. I was originally scheduled to have dinner with Allen on Friday evening, but filming had gone long into the day for him and his crew. Honestly, I was tired from my day of traveling but I did not want to admit it. Allen was wondering if I would care to come up to his Garden Home Retreat and see the farm and the early daffodils that were just breaking forth.

How could I refuse such and invite?

I quickly answered yes and Saturday morning could not come soon enough. As a gardener I relish spring and the earth awakening. As a designer I had been looking forward to the opportunity to see the layout of the farm, gardens and the interior of house.

Image

Like a ride from “Wind in the Willows”, a half an hour to get to Allen’s home, set amongst the trundling landscape of Moss Mountain, and I arrived. Allen takes pride in welcoming the public into his home. He is very gracious and at ease amongst the padocks, meadows, Southern Shortleaf Pines, and oaks. Of course what caught my eye was the beginning of the daffodils. Now I have heard a couple of numbers, but it is an estimated 275,000 daffodils been planted in the meadow that lies like a carpet in front of the traditional Greek Revival farmhouse.

A glorious morning of sunshine, blue skies and unseasonable warm temperatures made for an impressionistic landscape. One could just smell the honey laden perfume of the myriad of yellow blooms as the day warmed.

I must admit I am very grateful for the time Allen took to show me his lair. Retreat is not just implied, but is modus vivendi overlooking the Arkansas River Valley.

Time does not stand still, but is certainly savored at Allen’s Garden Home Retreat. Daffodil Days will be starting soon. March 9, 16, 23, and 30. I would book sooner than later because of the unexpected warmth.

Thank you Allen and staff. I look forward to the Garden2Blog event in May and experiencing yet another season of Arkansas.

4 responses

  1. Sounds like a wonderful visit to the beautiful Moss Mountain Farm. I’m looking forward to Garden2Blog, too!

    March 3, 2012 at 10:03 am

  2. Wow, that must have been quite a treat, Bruce! With 275,000 daffodils, you must have felt like running through them singing like Julie Andrews…! ;0D

    March 3, 2012 at 9:40 pm

  3. It was greet visiting with you Bruce. I look forward to seeing you again in May!

    March 12, 2012 at 6:47 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 4,313 other followers